A Throne of Swans

Now my father is dead, I am the only swan here. And I do not fly….

When her father dies just before her birthday, seventeen-year-old Aderyn inherits the role of Protector of Atratys, a dominion in a kingdom where nobles are able to transform at will into the bird that represents their family bloodline. Aderyn’s ancestral bird is a swan. But she hasn’t transformed for years, not since witnessing the death of her mother – ripped apart by hawks that have supposedly been extinct since the long-ago War of the Raptors.

With the benevolent shelter of her mother and her father now lost, Aderyn is at the mercy of her brutal uncle, the king, and his royal court. Driven by revenge and love, she must venture into the malevolent heart of the Citadel in order to seek the truth about the attack that so nearly destroyed her, to fight for the only home she has ever known and for the land she has vowed to protect.

‘A dark and glittering fairytale to make your heart take flight. I loved this world of ruthless noble intrigue and a heroine who must earn her wings.’ Vic James, author of the Dark Gifts trilogy and Sanctuary

South Wales Evening Post Book Of The Week: ‘An intriguing fantasy richy woven with magic and a duplicitous cast, a flawed but courageous heroine and an unexpected twist. For fans of Leigh Bardugo and Melinda Salisbury.’

A BookTrust Best New Book for January 2020: ‘If you love Melinda Salisbury’s royal politics and treacherous courts, you’ll love this brilliant Game of Thrones-esque fantasy. There’s no swearing (though there is a very tastefully vague sex scene, suitable for young teens) and only occasional (reasonably vivid) violence, but tons of intrigue, mystery, family drama, glamorous gowns and hidden swords.’

‘Oh, WOW. This is a stunning high fantasy with a brilliant narrator, which had me glued to it while reading…Massive recommendation to fans of awesome fantasy novels.’  YA Yeah Yeah. Read the full review here.


Published by Hot Key Books (Bonnier Books UK)

Available here:


A Throne of Swans (A Throne of Swans, #1)